Latkes and Bacon

For as long as I can remember, it has been a tradition of my family to have bacon, lettuce, and tomato sandwiches on Christmas Eve.  I actually don’t like bacon, so I just put cheese on mine.  But everyone else eats them.

The other day, my mom decided she would make latkes (potato pancakes) for Hanukkah.  We usually have them for dinner one night during Hanukkah.  Her original plan was to have them last night, but that didn’t work out.  I was working until 5 (and I was going to buy the potatoes and onions to make the latkes) and my bro had to be somewhere at 6.  So, the timing didn’t work.

Then we came up with the idea to have them tonight, on Christmas Eve, along with the BLT sandwiches.  It’s a rather funny combination of foods.  Bacon is definitely not kosher.  So, we’re having Jewish food along with bacon.  Maybe it’ll become a new tradition.  It would certainly fit our mix of religions.