The Curse of Cursive

I distinctly remember the last time I wrote something in cursive, prior to today, that was not signing my name.  It was the day I took the SAT, in junior year of high school.  The task was tedious, as I did not remember much cursive, which I had not used since elementary school.  Why I had to write a two line statement in cursive instead of printing prior to taking the SAT is beyond me.  How is saying I won’t cheat in cursive more trustworthy than saying it in printing?

Today, I took the GREs, the SAT of the college world.  I was taken back to junior year when the examiner handed me a clipboard in which I had to write a two line passage, in cursive.  I groaned inwardly.  Not again.  The task took me nearly as long as it took me to write the second essay (which was laughably easy).  The examiner even came out when I was nearly done and asked me,  ‘Are you done yet?’.  My printing is horribly messy and my cursive isn’t even legible.  It just barely fit on the five lines they gave me to write it on.